News from the Campaign

Senator John McCain To Campaign With Deb Fischer On Friday

October 31, 2012

U.S. Sen. McCain Will Visit Omaha For A Campaign Stop With Sen. Fischer, Gov. Heineman, U.S. Sen. Johanns, and Rep. Terry

LINCOLN, Nebraska, October 31, 2012 - Today the Deb Fischer for U.S. Senate campaign announced that U.S. Senator John McCain will campaign with Deb Fischer in Omaha on Friday morning.

Governor Heineman, Senator Mike Johanns, and Congressman Lee Terry will also appear with Senator McCain and Fischer.

Earlier this month, Senator McCain endorsed Deb Fischer, citing her “character and commitment to change Washington.”

“She will work to eliminate wasteful spending, balance the budget, and grow the private sector economy. Facing an ever-growing debt, we need fiscally conservative leadership like Deb’s in the U.S. Senate to get our nation back on the right track,” said U.S. Senator John McCain.

Friday, November 2nd

9:30 AM

U.S. Senator John McCain
U.S. Senator Mike Johanns
Governor Dave Heineman
Rep. Lee Terry
U.S. Senate Candidate Deb Fischer

Werner Enterprise Hanger
3619 Doolittle Plaza (East Side)
Omaha, Nebraska


Click here to comment

New Poll: Fischer Leads By 16; Kerrey Attack Ads Backfiring

October 27, 2012


LINCOLN, Nebraska, October 27, 2012 - The Deb Fischer for U.S. Senate campaign released an internal poll today showing Deb Fischer with a commanding 55%-39% lead over Bob Kerrey.

Public Opinion Strategies surveyed 600 likely voters from October 23 to October 25. The margin of error for the survey is ±4.00%.

Click here to view the polling memo.

The live telephone survey, which interviewed both landline and cellphone users, was conducted by Public Opinion Strategies, a nationally renowned polling firm with a long and widely-respected record of polling for campaigns in Nebraska including Dave Heineman for Governor, Mike Johanns for U.S. Senate, Jeff Fortenberry for Congress, Lee Terry for Congress, and Adrian Smith for Congress.

The new poll confirms that despite a negative ad blitz by Kerrey, a majority of Nebraskans view Deb Fischer favorably, while a plurality view Bob Kerrey unfavorably.

“Our polling shows that Nebraskans are responding positively to Senator Fischer’s issues-focused campaign, and they’re soundly rejecting Bob Kerrey’s desperate mudslinging and personal attacks,” said Fischer campaign manager Aaron Trost. “With just over a week to go, Senator Fischer is in a strong position to win this race. She will bring proven leadership to the U.S. Senate and will be a voice for fiscal responsibility that is desperately needed.”


Click here to comment

25 Nebraska Mayors Endorse Deb Fischer

October 27, 2012

Endorsers include the Mayors of Bellevue, Kearney, Fremont, Hastings, North Platte, Papillion, La Vista, Scottsbluff, South Sioux City, and Beatrice

LINCOLN, Nebraska, October 26, 2012 - Today, the mayors of 25 Nebraska cities endorsed Deb Fischer for U.S. Senate.

The announcement comes during Senator Fischer’s weeklong “Nebraska Way” tour, where she is visiting over 30 cities and towns across Nebraska to talk about her plans to get America back to work and fix the broken culture of Washington.

The list of endorsers includes the mayors of Bellevue, Kearney, Fremont, Hastings, North Platte, Papillion, La Vista, Scottsbluff, South Sioux City, and Beatrice.

“As a legislator in the Unicameral, Deb helped cut spending and taxes, and balanced the budget. We need her fiscally conservative leadership in the Senate, and I’m proudly supporting her campaign.”
Rita Sanders
Mayor of Bellevue

“Deb Fischer is an effective and thoughtful leader who represents Nebraska values. She will continue to fight for Nebraska values in the U.S. Senate.”
Dennis Berry
Mayor of McCook

Here is the list of Nebraska mayors endorsing Deb Fischer for United States Senate:

Rita Sanders
Mayor of Bellevue

Stan Clouse
Mayor of Kearney

Scott Getzschman
Mayor of Fremont

Vern Powers
Mayor of Hastings

Marc Kaschke
Mayor of North Platte

Mike Moser
Mayor of Columbus

David Black
Mayor of Papillion

Doug Kindig
Mayor of La Vista

Randy Meininger
Mayor of Scottsbluff

William McLarty
Mayor of South Sioux City

Dennis Schuster
Mayor of Beatrice

John Fagot
Mayor of Lexington

Ed Mayo
Mayor of Gering

James Realph
Mayor of Blair

Dennis Berry
Mayor of McCook

Rick Jeffrey
Mayor of Holdrege

Jerry Johnson
Mayor of Wahoo

Tim Hersh
Mayor of Falls City

Homer Ward
Mayor of Fairbury

Al Zavodny
Mayor of David City

Rowdy Kluender
Mayor of Valentine

Jack Berg
Mayor of Bridgeport

Kurt Keck
Mayor of Creighton

Naomi Grupe
Mayor of Deshler

Chuck Hamernik
Mayor of Clarkson


Click here to comment